Forgot your password?
New user?


Holiday pay

All full time employees receive at least five weeks of paid holiday every year.

As an employee in Denmark, you are entitled to five weeks paid of holiday per year.

The new rules will come into force 1 September 2020.

The new Holiday Act allows employees to take paid holidays in the same year as they accrued. The holiday year will run from 1 September to 31 august. You earn 2.08 paid holidays per month and can spend in the same holiday year or no later than 30 December in following year.

Transitional period between 1st September 2019 and 31st August 2020

Before the new Holiday Act enters into force, there will be a transition year from 1 September 2019 to 31 August 2020 which is to ensure that we all transition smoothly from the old holiday rules to the new ones.
The holiday pay that you earn during the transition year will be converted into savings in the new fund, Wageearners Holiday Pay (Lønmodtagernes Feriemidler in Danish). You will have these savings paid out when you reach the state pension age.

The rules until 31st August 2019

According to the previous holiday pay rules, from 1st May to 30th April employees take paid holidays that are accrued from 1st January and 31st December in the year before.

Further information about Holiday Pay at (new link)